Being arrested can be a distressing experience, especially if you haven't done anything wrong. It is not always easy for officers to be certain of who is responsible for a crime and sometimes that means innocent people are taken into custody. At other times, an individual might come under suspicion because of previous misdemeanors, or their actions may be perceived to be more serious than they are. Being charged with a crime does not guarantee a conviction, however, so it is important to remain calm.
Four college students at San Jose State University in California are facing criminal charges for allegedly tormenting their African-American roommate. The students are facing misdemeanor hate crime and battery charges, to which they have all pleaded not guilty. The charges came after allegations that the students used a bike lock on their roommate's neck, called him racial slurs, locked him in a room and waved a Confederate flag.
Drivers in California suspected of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs can face very serious charges, especially if they cause an accident that causes serious injuries or fatalities. A recent criminal case is an example of the serious charges drivers can face if they are arrested for a drunk driving accident that severely injured or killed someone.
Two men, ages 20 and 17, have been taken into police custody for their alleged involvement in a string of residential burglaries in northern Orange County. Authorities state that the 20-year-old man admitted to committing 11 burglaries and 10 attempted burglaries in Placentia between October and late December. He reportedly further confessed to other acts of robbery in parts of Orange County, which are currently under investigation by the Orange County Sheriff's Department. Reports indicate that the man is in Orange County Jail with bail set at $20,000 for possession of stolen property and possession of cocaine on top of theft charges.
A 32-year-old man was arrested on Sept. 16 for an alleged theft in Orange County. The Newport Beach resident was accused of stealing a watch from a jewelry store in Westminster. The alleged theft resulted in the man being charged with a robbery and sent to Orange County Jail. He may face a criminal trial for the incident with the possibility of a felony charge.
A night out with dinner and a glass of wine could end with a DUI charge for motorists in California if the state decides to follow the recommendation from the National Transportation Safety Board and lowers the legal limit for intoxication to 0.05 percent from its current level of 0.08 percent.
Some groups opposed to the change claim the consumption of one drink by the average woman would make her legally intoxicated under the proposed standard and subject her to a misdemeanor charge. The NTSB proposal to lower the legal limit for intoxication included recommendations that states allow the confiscation by a police officer of the license of a driver who exceeds the state BAC limit or who refuses to submit to a BAC test.