TELL US ABOUT YOUR CRIMINAL CASE
The Things You Need To Know About 290 Registration
Under California Penal Code § 290.46, someone convicted of a sex crime must register as a sex offender. The state’s registry is among the most expansive and strict in the country. Being on the registry greatly restricts your choices of places to live, as well as your ability to earn a living or pursue an education.
Since 1979, Ron Cordova has defended clients in Orange County and throughout Southern California. He regularly represents clients against the most severe felonies under state and federal laws, including sex-related offenses. His courtroom success and deep knowledge of the criminal code help him fight to preserve his client’s legal rights and avoid injustice.
Changes To The 290 Sex Offender Registry System
Starting in January 2021, California will have a three-tier sex offender registry process. The tiers represent increasing levels of offense and the length of time a conviction requires registration.
- A first-tier offense, such as indecent exposure, requires you to register as a sex offender for 10 years
- Second-tier offenses, including lewd acts with a minor under 14, requires 20 years on the registry
- Third-tier offenses like felony sexual battery lead to a lifetime registry as a sex offender
Another pending change to the law will give offenders the chance to be removed from the sex registry if they have not been convicted of a violent or sex crime since they were released from prison. Individuals will be eligible for possible removal 10 to 20 years after their sentence ends.
However, until the new law goes into effect, a conviction for most sex crimes will result in a lifetime requirement to register as a sex offender. Even if you are convicted as a juvenile, you will remain on the registry until you are 40. You will have to re-register every year around your birthday and whenever you move to a new home. Your life will be greatly restricted, not to mention the embarrassment of being publicly labeled as a sex offender. Experienced criminal defense counsel is your best option for a fair process based on the evidence.
Free Consultations With A Defense Attorney
For more information about California’s new sex offender registry laws, contact Ron Cordova, Attorney-At-Law at 949-769-2175 or toll-free at 888-696-5790. Otherwise, email the firm to schedule a free consultation. The firm accepts credit cards.